Show your desktop - March 2022

Hello everyone, I am a newbie to Openbox.

5 Likes

I Hope you will not get confused by this WM, goodluck :smile:

7 Likes

So far so good with Quicktile & Desktop grid.

5 Likes

At the moment I’m seeing how to keep the default conky on the left side,
the one that brings the keyboard shortcuts, which disappears when changing the theme,
thanks for commenting, I liked how you placed the visualizer on the player.

2 Likes

Sorry for late reply, but to manually change conkies (even when theme does not include them) you will need to select them in the menu. To open the menu right click on desktop or taskbar and follow the path

There You can choose conkies, unselected ones will close or will not be shown at all on the desktop. You are searching for ‘shortcuts_*.conkyrs’ check box. Choose(click the check box) the color you like and maybe some additional conkies like “sys-info” or “MB-text”.

After that, click “Apply”. remember if you have unchecked already checked ones they will close.
P.S. I suggest to not apply two or more similar conkies that only different in color.

4 Likes

I appreciate it, thank you !

2 Likes

At this very moment I could integrate CAVA visualizer into the background wallpaper as a transparent layer terminal using a modified bash script ( added to openbox autostart.conf file) as our dear @napcok developer also added that right click mouse sound icon function to pick radios with no gui ( different to pyradio from terminal option) I decided to be a good idea to add this extra CAVA visualizer keep going the music beats from the login access. So far so good. I will soon share more details to make this operative as a tutorial. Greetings from Chile.

5 Likes

5 Likes

Awesome tip to reduce image size editor online. Chaltumay (Thanks)

3 Likes

@Snubbi, @ben_chile
You can use https://squoosh.app/ to optimize images quickly if you want them to be embedded directly on forum posts.