Radio alarm clock for PyRadio with 'rtcwake' command - bash script

Edited for updated version (stations-list and stations displayed). Thanks @sng for the tips!

Hey guys! I wrote a tiny bash script to use your machine as a radio alarm clock with PyRadio. I’m completely new to bash scripting or scripting at all, so this represents my level of skills atm :sweat_smile:. Feel free to expand it or pimp it up!

Save script as ‘raclock’ or any other name you like to ~/user/bin or any other directory specified in .bash_profile and make it executable.

The script only demands two (edit: now 3 :kissing_smiling_eyes:) inputs by the user: the wakeup time and the radio station you want to play. In updated version you’re asked to choose the stations-list as well. After that ‘rtcwake’ asks for your sudo pw and shuts down your machine right away into standby (mem) and wakes it up again at the time you specified. There are other shutdown- and idle modes that might work better for your usecase. Check out documentation for ‘rtcwake’!
It’s supposed to work with PulseAudio. Changes can be made in the script. Settings in PyRadio should be preconfigured in the config-file, like the stations-list or volume level at startup. The rest should be comprehensible from the comments. Else, feel free to ask!

Have fun!

P.S.: As I move forward with my humble bash scripting attempts I will put overhauled versions of this script into a new post in this thread. There are some features I miss like notifications for wrong input etc. Perhaps anyone may hint me in the right direction. Cheers!

#!/bin/bash

# 'raclock' submited in MaBox-Forum by user Faehnchen for free use.

echo -e "\n\n\033[1;32m\t A tiny radio alarm clock for 'PyRadio' in bash \n\t       Press Ctr+C if you want to cancel! \033[0m \n"

sleep 1

echo -e "\n\033[1;34m\t     Hey $USER! Now it's `date +"%Y-%m-%d %H:%M"`. \n\t        When do you want to be woken up? \033[0m \n"