My Personal Feedback Thread

Hey everyone!

I’m an audio engineer that does some web-dev and other hobby programming on the side. After ordering my new laptop, a Lenovo S540-13IML, I started looking for a nice Linux distro to use on it, as I really hate Windows for portable stuff. After trying Ubuntu, Fedora, Mint, Manjaro, OpenSUSE and a couple of others on a VM on my workstation desktop, I finally found Mabox, and it’s AWESOME!

I really like the ability to configure the UI and desktop environment, its really great.

So I immediately installed it when my new laptop came in, and it’s still awesome, I’m currently typing this on my laptop with Mabox.

The goal is to keep using Mabox on this device in its entire life-span (I think about 7 years), so it will be fun to see how much the project evolves over time!

With each response to this thread I hope to supply you with some (hopefully valuable), feedback and information.

Feedback 01 :
The Manjaro installation manual is good, but it might be worth mentioning in the official Mabox “installation docs” that in order to boot with a USB image in EFI/UEFI bios, secure boot has to be turned DISABLED.
I had some troubles booting from the USB installer, it kept telling me “filesystem unknown, starting grub rescuer”. Which in the end turned out to be a Manjaro specific problem with Rufus. I already had Rufus 3.5 installed on my workstation, so I used that to create my bootable USB, but was the cause of my problem. After updating Rufus to 3.13, the installation worked as a charm again :slight_smile:. Some more info about this can be found here : link. I would recommend to add a note to the “installation docs” to tell first time users they should use the most recent version of Rufus to install Mabox.