Bash-script to extract LIKED titles from PyRadio titles-logfile

Newest feature in PyRadio is the logging of currently playing radio stations and music titles/broadcasts (toggle on/off with ‘W’. Additionally you can tag a playing title as “liked” by pressing ‘w’ in PyRadio.

To extract these likes automatically and store them in a chronological list so you can review them later, I wrote this script. It creates an individual list-file in ~.config/pyradio/.

As gimmick there’s a second step where the titles are converted into a searchlink for DuckDuckGo and added to a second alphabetical list. That should make it more uncomplicated to start a websearch for a band/title you liked (just open with a pager in a terminal or a text-editor with hyperlink-support, hold CTRL pressed and click a link).

I hope you may draw some benefit from this script. I’m also always happy about feedback or suggestions for improvement regarding my bash-scripting, since I’m still a bloody noob :innocent:.

Have fun and wish you all a nice evening!

#!/bin/bash

# # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # #
         #:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::#
         #::: Bash script to extract your LIKES from 'pyradio-titles.log'::::#
         #:::¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯:::#
         # # Faehnchen,  Apr. 20, 2022 # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # #

# https://forum.maboxlinux.org/c/userland/scripts-tutorials-tips/17

LOGFILE="$HOME/.config/pyradio/pyradio-titles.log"

#  default filepath for favourites list
LISTFILE="$HOME/.config/pyradio/$USER_pyradio_favs.list"

#  temporary files
EXTRFILE="$HOME/.config/pyradio/usr_favs.tmp"
SORTFILE="$HOME/.config/pyradio/sorted_favs.tmp"

echo -e "\n      \033[1;4;32m Extracting your LIKES from 'pyradio-titles.log' \033[0m"
sleep 0.5
echo -e "\n\033[1;34m Create or update file in\033[0m $LISTFILE\033[1;34m ? \033[0m\n"